4A: Tasteful Typography

Message/Audience: I really enjoyed this assignment. I love working in Word, and being able to enhance an already beautiful image with equally appealing text is inspiring! I suppose I was inspired by conference coming up. I think my audience was really myself and my message was simply a reminder to myself to endure my trials to the end because it will all be for my good. And if Joseph can endure what he endured, I can surely endure my own trials.

Process: I did a lot a lot of playing around with the size of the rectangle behind the quote bleeding off the page as well as the size of the text box with the quote in it to get it to balance just right and follow the guidelines of the margins and such for quotes. I chose to let the scroll of the F in “Faith” hang off in attempt to pull the eye toward the text a little.

Critique Report: Sister Larson gave me a much appreciated critique and suggested that I change the color of the text. I originally chose a light grey color, but she felt it was rather monochromatic. I can’t say I disagreed. She suggested that I use one of the beautiful gold tones found in the picture, but when I tried those colors, it felt as if the text had a light shining on it in a direction opposite of the direction of the light shining on the prophet’s face. It felt distracting. So, I chose to use a shade of green from Joseph Smith’s pants. I think it appropriately draws attention to the quote without distracting or competing. Sister Larson also mentioned that the scroll of the F was hanging off and part of the F was touching the edge of the rectangle behind the text, but understood that it was an artistic choice and conscious decision to do so.

I critiqued Leslie Peterson Guthrie and Pollyanna Reyes.

Font Name/Category: Title – Kunstler Script (script), Body – Times New Roman (serif)

Photo Source: https://josephsmith.net/bc/content/images/joseph-smith-net/Artwork/swindle-liberty-jail.jpg

Joseph Smith kneeling in Liberty Jail looking heavenward. D&C 122:7 quotation to the right of him.

 

Here is my project in Word.

 

Screenshot of 4A Typography assignment in Word

Leave a comment