12A Magazine Spread Project Draft

Message/Audience: I chose to do my magazine spread article about my own conversion story. I wrote it and realized that it could really go in either the New Era or the Ensign. The audience would be any young teenage or older LDS member. The message was to convey through my conversion story that not every conversion has a huge, emotional story behind it; sometimes a moment filled with peace is sufficient.

Process: I thought drawing up four sketches would be overwhelming, but as I got to my last sketch, I really felt the creative juices start to flow. I can appreciate the process of multiple sketches and to not get discouraged or just settle with the first sketch. Again, the sketch map made it so much easier to just insert images into the layout. InDesign is a little less intuitive for me, so I struggled with it a bit more than PhotoShop, but I can see its benefits.

I wanted to keep similar shape lines with the ovals, but I felt that the line in the wall behind the girl and the hard lines of the edges of the Book of Mormon allowed me to get away with the rectangle shape on the left and the square quote box with rounded edges. I think the quote box tied it all together.

I chose a complementary blue/indigo and orange/gold color scheme. I used the eyedropper tool on the Book of Mormon to match the shades.

Font Name/Category: I used the Cambria (oldstyle) and AR Berkley (decorative) for the title. AR Berkley (decorative) for the quote box, and Arial (san serif) for the copy.

Sources: Book of MormonGirl reading scripturesYoung Women Medallion

12amagazinespread-leahbashamfinal





Layout Sketch for 12A magazine spread projectLayout Sketch for 12A magazine spread projectLayout Sketch for 12A magazine spread project

Layout Sketch for 12A magazine spread project

Adobe InDesign Sketch Map for 12A Magazine Layout Project

 

 

Leave a comment